Professional Learning Division

Vision Statement

The Professional Learning Division of the AIMS Center for Math and Science Education is committed to empowering teachers across the nation to strengthen their students’ conceptual, representational, and abstract understanding of math and science content.

Our goal is to facilitate powerful professional learning opportunities for educators, modeling hands-on math and science tasks which allow them to experience and learn methods to successfully incorporate hands-on manipulatives into their math and science classrooms. These workshops are designed to assist teachers in changing or altering their current teaching beliefs and/or practices.

HOSTING A WORKSHOP | ATTENDING A WORKSHOP

Yosemite Learning
My first visit to Yosemite National Park happened last weekend. I was absolutely wowed by the park [more]
New York Science Workshops Part 2 – Supportive Teaching Cultures
New York non-public school educators came together last week at Iona College in New Rochelle, New [more]
Three Days In New York
Do you think of summer as a time to grow and learn? Being an educator, I have always filled my summ [more]
One of my goals when I started teaching was to create an inquiry-based science classroom for my stu [more]
Deb Porcarelli

Deb Porcarelli
Director of Professional Learning
Phone: (559) 453-8131
Email: dporcarelli@aimsedu.org
In her 33rd year as an educator, Deb Porcarelli is currently the Director of Professional Learning at the AIMS Center for Math and Science Education. She has BS in Elementary Education and a Masters Degree in Integrated Mathematics and Science Education. She taught in a small rural K-12 school in South Central Montana, and joined the AIMS Facilitator cadre in 1995. In her current role at the AIMS Center, she is continually working to make professional learning partnerships with educators effective, and has the goal of helping them to improve their classroom teaching practices.
Lynn Gies

Lynn Gies
Professional Learning Assistant
Phone: (559) 453-8100
Email: lgies@aimsedu.org
 

Facilitators

Paul Agranoff
pagranoff@aimsedu.org

Donna Barton
dbarton@aimsedu.org

Melinda Birdwell
mbirdwell@aimsedu.org

Cecelia Brands
cbrands@aimsedu.org

Care Butler
cbutler@aimsedu.org

Eric Crantz
ecrantz@aimsedu.org

Carmella Crawford
ccrawford@aimsedu.org

John Dueck
jdueck@aimsedu.org

John Elmer
jelmer@aimsedu.org

Sheldon Erickson
serickson@aimsedu.org

Rachel Eure
reure@aimsedu.org

Mike Fassl
mfassl@aimsedu.org

Linda Fawcett
lfawcett@aimsedu.org

Christopher Franklin
cfranklin@aimsedu.org

Elizabeth Mcdaniel
emcdaniel@aimsedu.org

Debra Mueller
dmueller@aimsedu.org

Stephanie Savoy
ssavoy@aimsedu.org

Pam Stryker
pstryker@aimsedu.org

Heather Unger
hunger@aimsedu.org

Sandee Vossler
svossler@aimsedu.org