Research Division

Vision Statement

We are dedicated to using research to enhance the quality and appropriateness of students’ educational experiences as they come to know math and science.

Division Goals:

Why we do what we do:

A wealth of research exists that involves studying the subject of “How Kids Come to Learn”, but only a small portion of that research has been implemented in practical ways. We want to see more of that research made applicable for teachers and the classroom setting.

 
Richard Thiessen

Richard Thiessen, Ph.D.
Director of Research
Phone: (559) 255-4094
Email: rethiess@aimsedu.org


Kylene Hashimoto
Research Division Assistant
Phone: (559) 453-8135
Email: khashimoto@aimsedu.org
Confidence (Part II): Building Teacher’s Confidence
In my last blog, I compared the idea of developing the confidence in learning how to drive agai [more]
Confidence (Part I): How it Relates to Both Driving and Teaching
Several months ago, I wrote a blog post comparing the experience of a 16-year old learning how to d [more]
This past March I was fortunate enough to be able to attend the annual National Science Teacher Ass [more]
In a previous blog post I talked about the importance of spatial learning in relationship to our in [more]

Elin Anderson
Research Associate
evanvleet@aimsedu.org

Jason Chamberlain
Research Associate
jchamberlain@aimsedu.org

Beverly Ford
Research Associate
bford@aimsedu.org

Tiffany Friesen, Ph.D.
Senior Researcher
tfriesen@aimsedu.org

Elizabeth Gamino
Research Associate
egamino@aimsedu.org

Brook Lewis
Research Associate
blewis@aimsedu.org

Scott Nielsen
Research Associate
snielsen@aimsedu.org

David Pearce
Research Associate
dpearce@aimsedu.org

Paul Reimer
Senior Researcher
preimer@aimsedu.org

Aileen Rizo
Research Associate
arizo@aimsedu.org

Jaclyn Russell
Research Associate
jrussell@aimsedu.org

Kylene Hashimoto
Research Assistant
khashimoto@aimsedu.org