Professional Learning Division

Vision Statement

The Professional Learning Division of the AIMS Center for Math and Science Education is committed to empowering teachers across the nation to strengthen their students’ conceptual, representational, and abstract understanding of math and science content.

Our goal is to facilitate powerful professional learning opportunities for educators, modeling hands-on math and science tasks which allow them to experience and learn methods to successfully incorporate hands-on manipulatives into their math and science classrooms. These workshops are designed to assist teachers in changing or altering their current teaching beliefs and/or practices.

Pursue Professional Learning

Testimonials

“AIMS continues to live up to the reputation of providing high quality professional development with direct correlation to the applicable Standards of Learning. We have enjoyed partnering with you on this grant funded opportunity and hope to do business with AIMS again in the future.”
-Paula C. Lichiello, Assistant Dean, Lynchburg College, VA

“I am always telling my students they have to ‘own it.’ Well, you don’t ‘own it’ if you can’t use it. AIMS provides a way for students to actually use math, and it is usage that proves our ownership.” – Corri Mowrer, 5th grade teacher, Harvest Valley Elementary, CA

Learning Opportunity

No new events at present.

They Are Curious
Albert Einstein once said, “The important thing is to not stop questioning. Curiosity has its [more]
Let’s Build – Part 3
There is nothing better than listening to, learning from, and growing from a presentation given [more]
Let’s Build – Part 2
I wake up daily craving a morning cup coffee, quite similar to how I crave spending time collab [more]

Deb Porcarelli – Director of Professional Learning
preimer@aimsedu.org — (559) 453-8131

Deb PorcarelliDeb Porcarelli is currently the Director of Professional Learning. She has BS in Elementary Education and a Masters Degree in Integrated Mathematics and Science Education. She taught in a small rural K-12 school in South Central Montana, and joined the AIMS Facilitator cadre in 1995. In her current role at the AIMS Center, she is continually working to make professional learning partnerships with educators effective, and has the goal of helping them to improve their classroom teaching practices.
Lynn GiesLynn Gies – Professional Learning Assistant
Phone: (559) 453-8100
Email: lgies@aimsedu.org
 

Facilitators

Donna Barton
dbarton@aimsedu.org

Melinda Birdwell
mbirdwell@aimsedu.org

Cecelia Brands
cbrands@aimsedu.org

Care Butler
cbutler@aimsedu.org

Eric Crantz
ecrantz@aimsedu.org

Carmella Crawford
ccrawford@aimsedu.org

Sheldon Erickson
serickson@aimsedu.org

Rachel Eure
reure@aimsedu.org

Mike Fassl
mfassl@aimsedu.org

Christopher Franklin
cfranklin@aimsedu.org

Elizabeth Mcdaniel
emcdaniel@aimsedu.org

Debra Mueller
dmueller@aimsedu.org

Stephanie Savoy
ssavoy@aimsedu.org

Pam Stryker
pstryker@aimsedu.org

Heather Unger
hunger@aimsedu.org

Sandee Vossler
svossler@aimsedu.org