AIMS Science Professional Development

These are the types of one-day Professional Development Science workshops that AIMS offers.  The goal is to share ways teachers can help their students build a strong understanding of science. Our materials help students gain conceptual understanding in specific science domains and make the goals set by standards, clear. We have set each day to align with the goals set by Next Generation Science Standards. Teachers attending will have a chance to experience the science content expectations for the grade levels they teach.

Science Workshop

Science Topics

Scientific and Engineering Practices: K-2, 3-5, and 6-8
Engaging in the practices of science helps students understand how scientific knowledge develops, and direct involvement gives them an appreciation of the wide range of approaches that are used to investigate, model, and explain the world. Engaging in the practices of engineering helps students understand the work of engineers, and the links between engineering and science. The practices are the knowledge and skills scientists need to be successful. The term “practices” can be thought of as engaging in scientific investigations requiring not only skill but also knowledge that are specific to each practice. Each day will increase expectations to accommodate higher-grade levels.

Cross Cutting Concepts: K-2, 3-5, and 6-8
The crosscutting concepts bridge the disciplinary boundaries, and unit ideas that are at the core of the fields of science and engineering. The purpose is to help students deepen their understanding of science disciplines, and develop a coherent and scientifically based view of the world. During the days for each grade level cluster we have chosen AIMS lessons that highlight the seven Cross Cutting Concepts.

Core Disciplines: K-2, 3-5, and 6-8
For the science core disciplines Physical Science, Life Science, Earth and Space Science, Engineering Technology and Applications of Science, AIMS will choose grade level appropriate lessons aligned to each grade level within a cluster. These days will give educators a strong collection of science lessons at a desired grade level cluster in one of the four science disciplines.

Physical Science: K-2, 3-5, 6-8
(Description coming soon!)

Life Science: K-2, 3-5, 6-8
(Description coming soon!)

Earth and Space Science: K-2, 3-5, 6-8
(Description coming soon!)

Engineering Technology and Applications of Science: K-2, 3-5, 6-8
(Description coming soon!)

For more information about AIMS Workshops, fill out this form or call (559) 453-8131.

Share
Discourse in Three
Have you ever been motivated, engaged, and thinking about something in a new or different way? W [more]
If Only I’d Had the NGSS
For four years, I taught science every morning from 8:20AM - 9:10AM. I had a third and fourth grade [more]
Have you Done a Good Math Problem Lately?
I spent some time with my family this past weekend. When we get together we often talk about books [more]
One Week, Two Countries, and Three Conferences
Last week, three of us from the AIMS Professional Learning Division had the opportunity to particip [more]
Deb Porcarelli

Deb Porcarelli
Director of Professional Learning
Phone: (559) 453-8131
Email: dporcarelli@aimsedu.org
In her 33rd year as an educator, Deb Porcarelli is currently the Director of Professional Learning at the AIMS Center for Math and Science Education. She has BS in Elementary Education and a Masters Degree in Integrated Mathematics and Science Education. She taught in a small rural K-12 school in South Central Montana, and joined the AIMS Facilitator cadre in 1995. In her current role at the AIMS Center, she is continually working to make professional learning partnerships with educators effective, and has the goal of helping them to improve their classroom teaching practices.
Lynn Gies

Lynn Gies
Professional Learning Assistant
Phone: (559) 453-8100
Email: lgies@aimsedu.org
 

Facilitators

Donna Barton
dbarton@aimsedu.org

Melinda Birdwell
mbirdwell@aimsedu.org

Cecelia Brands
cbrands@aimsedu.org

Care Butler
cbutler@aimsedu.org

Eric Crantz
ecrantz@aimsedu.org

Carmella Crawford
ccrawford@aimsedu.org

John Elmer
jelmer@aimsedu.org

Sheldon Erickson
serickson@aimsedu.org

Rachel Eure
reure@aimsedu.org

Mike Fassl
mfassl@aimsedu.org

Christopher Franklin
cfranklin@aimsedu.org

Elizabeth Mcdaniel
emcdaniel@aimsedu.org

Debra Mueller
dmueller@aimsedu.org

Stephanie Savoy
ssavoy@aimsedu.org

Pam Stryker
pstryker@aimsedu.org

Heather Unger
hunger@aimsedu.org

Sandee Vossler
svossler@aimsedu.org